top of page

QHA Trent's Standards


QHA Trent’s system has comprehensive written standards sets that deal thoroughly with the generality of governance and clinical governance in a hospital, clinic or other healthcare provider ("general").

In addition, there are standards sets that specifically focus on certain areas of healthcare and wellness activity that are often found within hospitals and clinics, and which raise particular issues ("specific").

Furthermore, QHA Trent has standards for dealing with areas of healthcare and wellness activity which sometimes may not be found within hospital or clinic settings, but the proper execution of which are important for ensuring the health and well-being of patients and staff ("additional").

The lists of topics covered below below are by no means comprehensive.

All QHA Trent standards are evidence-based, mainly on the clinical governance principles that are in operation in the UK and adhered to by the National Health Service (NHS) and the private sector healthcare in the UK.  The standards are referenced and triangulated against reputable expert sources mainly from the UK, Europe and, sometimes, further afield geographically (e.g. the World Health Organisation, the United Nations or the World Bank).  Where necessary, the standards draw on additional sources of expertise from outside of the world of healthcare, such as social care, national and local governments, legal authorities, the financial and insurance industries, the commercial world, specialist societies, universities and colleges, and religious authorities.


  • Clinical governance
  • Operational policies and procedures
  • Management of service
  • Patient care
  • Facilities and equipment
  • Staff development, education  and training
  • Quality assessment and evaluation
  • Ethics, probity, insurance, indemnity and the law
  • Privacy and confidentiality
  • Spiritual well-being


  • General internal medicine
  • General surgery
  • Bariatric surgery and dietetics
  • Orthopaedics
  • Sports medicine
  • Ophthalmology
  • Cosmetic and aesthetic surgery and medicine
  • Transplant surgery
  • Minimal access surgery and related treatments
  • Cardiology services (including cardiac surgery and transplantation)
  • Renal dialysis (haemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis)
  • In-vitro fertilisation/assisted conception
  • Cancer services, including radiotherapy and chemotherapy
  • Physiotherapy
  • Occupational therapy
  • Speech and language therapy
  • Podiatry (chiropody)
  • Day procedure unit
  • Intensive care services
  • Paediatrics and child health
  • Accident and emergency departments
  • Laboratory services
  • Diagnostic imaging
  • Endoscopy services
  • Genetics
  • Sleep services


  • General practice (family practice)
  • Health screening centres
  • Dental services
  • Palliative care
  • Residential (nursing) care homes
  • Home (domiciliary) care
  • Ambulance services
  • Telemedicine
  • Occupational health services
  • Spas
  • Psychiatric services
  • Psychology services
  • Counselling
  • Traditional, alternative and complementary medicine


bottom of page